Breaking Up With Brands

The other day I sat in a store covered in paisley print and felt like I was making the biggest decision of my life: Should I get the Lily planner or the Kate Spade planner?

My breath was constricted. My face felt warm. This was major anxiety. I was overwhelmed, and my mind was racing with…

“Lily is so overdone and way cliche.”

“But Kate is the new Michael Kors. She will soon become old.”

As I almost made a decision, I had a moment of clarity: Why was I even considering spending $40 on a planner, when I love using a giant monthly one I buy at Target– and for half the cost?

Had I really become that materialist?


It’s been driving me nuts. Sure, Lily Pulitzer may have somewhat of a cult following and Michael Kors may be the new Coach, but I have a hard time believing that we actually love what we’re wearing.

I don’t blame the brands. I blame us, the consumers.

It’s a classic case of, “It’s not you, its me.”

I’ve since put myself up to a challenge. I’m going to try to stay away from big brands (well, unless I do love what I’m buying). It’s like dieting, except it’s not food, it’s brands.

I’ve started shopping at boutiques featuring brands that we’re not acquainted with. I’ve found that I get more compliments on these items, and they’re normally more stylish.

Taking a step away from a feeling we get from wearing something isn’t an easy task. But, If you think about it, some people could really use an extra $40 a month to take care of their families (If you’re still following the planner image).

I suppose it’s more of a compliment to these brands. You have given us a feeling and a desire to buy and wear your merchandise. We feel a sense of belonging in you, kudos!

This isn’t to say that you should stop wearing brands entirely. I just challenge you to wear something because you love it, not because it’s a $40 planner that everyone has to have.

Kate Planner

Kate Spade 2015 Planner

Agenda

Lily Pulitzer Planners

3 thoughts on “Breaking Up With Brands

  1. I bought my forty dollar planner and I love it haha. To me it’s worth it. You’ve got a great outlook on the money saving so that’s cool! I love thrifting & most of the time I can find those expensive brands for next to nothing. It’s all in where you look!

Leave a Reply

